Showing posts with label mt eden. Show all posts
Showing posts with label mt eden. Show all posts

Monday, 17 November 2014

Galbraith's Mt Eden - the former Grafton Public Library - architect Edward Bartley


Galbraiths Mt Eden Rd. Image Bartley Archive 2003
Edward Bartley was a strong advocate for public libraries. Universal and free access to means of self improvement  formed a corner stone of his social philosophy.
In 1878 he had helped to establish the first public library in the Auckland province, at Devonport.

Auckland City Council set aside funds for the first branch library in 1911. An architectural design competition was advertised, closing in February 1912.
The site available was next to the upper Symonds St reservoir.
 Edward Bartley's proposal was chosen. The concept proposed a single storey building with an 85 foot frontage to Mt Eden Road, costing less than the amount voted by rate payers.

Concept Drawing NZ Graphic 28 Feb 1912

The design featured an ornate portico supported on six ferro-concrete columns of the Roman Ionic order, covering broad entrance steps. The two bays either side of the entrance were defined by projecting pillars.The floor plan included lecture hall, committee room, reading room and library facilities for up to 10,000 volumes.
Lighting was by electricity. Acoustics and fire safety were especially considered in the plastered cement and brick construction.
Librarians office and counter was positioned between the two rooms with a clear view of the entrance as well. The inner hall was provided with an ornamental tiled floor and rimu panelled dado.
The windows were a notable design feature. Each are supported by four concrete mullions 6 feet in height, designed to reference the entrance columns. At the time they were the largest single mould concrete products made in Auckland.

Edward was well over 70 years old at the time of opening in March 1913.
Confident in adapting his style to modern taste, he was keen to push the known boundaries for new technologies when given the opportunity.



Refer also NZ Graphic 28 Feb 1912 p 26;NZH 3 May 1912 p9 col 1; 5 March 1912 p9 col 1; 28 May 1912 p9 col 1; 5 March 1913 p5 col 6; 17 March 1913 p5 col 4

Thursday, 26 June 2014

Edmund Israel Matthews - Employer and Family Friend



One of the key early influences on the career of Edward Bartley was Edmund Israel Matthews.

Edmund Israel Matthews was born January 1810 at Queensborough, Isle of Sheppy. In 1842 he was Foreman of works, Department of Royal Engineers, Chatham, where his brother was also employed. He was sent out to Hong Kong in 1845 and promoted to Clerk of Works.

During 1848 he was brought to Auckland to replace Government Clerk of Works, George Graham. His first work was to supervise the completion of the Albert Barracks wall.[i] This wall enclosed an area just over 21 acres in the centre of the town.

Albert Park is now laid out on part of the Barracks enclosure. The two gates opened into what is now Princes and Symonds Streets.
Inside the wall was accommodation for 900 rank and file in wooden barracks.
A stone building known as the Grenadier Barracks, housed a further 100.


Image from Cyclopedia of NZ Sn 5 p 32

Facilities included a military hospital, sergeant’s mess room, commissariat, treasury and orderly room. The ammunition store was also of stone construction, surrounded by its own stone wall.


Officers of the 58th outside the newly completed barracks, including Matthew SLATTERY at extreme left, forebear of Wilma Amy Slattery, wife of George F Bartley. Original Image Ak Museum P660 with thanks.



The parade square was laid down in grass.
Although the citizens of Auckland had, thankfully, no cause to seek shelter behind the barrack wall, they did make use of the level green space for sports and public events.

Matthews designed and erected Wynyard Pier with the assistance of Royal Engineers and troops of the 58th Regiment.
Later he retired from service to conduct business on his own behalf as a contractor. His contacts and reliability ensured him the lion’s share of Government work. Edward was now 18 years of age.
In that year work began on the Mt Eden Gaol, under the supervision of architect Mr Reader Wood.
Matthews, with Edward under his wing, was one of the contractors involved in the construction.

Trading as Matthews and Bartley builders they were responsible for completing Rumsey's Supreme Court building in Auckland, which was originally begun by Amos and Taylor.

The Supreme Court Building with the Barracks visible in the left background BFA




Edmund Matthews was one of the original eleven who formed the first Congregational Church in Auckland, under Rev MacDonald.
His wife was Elizabeth Austin PIKE, christened 1 October 1812 Brixham, Devon, England. They were the parents of five sons and two daughters:

The eldest son was Seering Hall Matthews, was just a little younger than Edward Bartley. After working first in the departmental offices of the Colonial Secretary, he worked with Edward Bartley under his father. When Edmund retired Seering Hall Matthews and Edward continued the contract building business on until the depression of the 1870s.

Seering Hall Matthews married Amelia WALL 27 August 1862.
His son Seering Frederick Matthews ( b1870, Worcester), married Sarah Jane COURT, (b 1874, Birmingham, to John Court and Sarah BABINGTON.)
We know of two children born to Fred and Sarah- Rita May Matthews (b 12 December 1897 Auckland, d 1980) and Seering John Matthews (b 21 March 1900, d 1978)

Siblings of Seering Hall include: Frederick William Matthews was born 1845 in Hong Kong of Mangawhare; also Alfred James Matthews, of Auckland, who married Ellen POTTER; Edward Matthews of Auckland, Mrs A JOHNSTON, Mrs Rob MACDONALD of Sydney

Edmund ,Israel Matthews, his wife Elizabeth, and their infant son were interred at Symonds St Cemetery[ii]

More family information may be found at : http://www.myheritage.com/site-129822151/stewart



This clipping from the Auckland Star 13 June 1895 was found with Bartley family memorabilia.







[i] Auckland Waikato Historical Journal Sept 1991 No 59 p16 G B Abel
[ii] NZH 14 October 1895 p5 col 13